Utah Marijuana Laws
The state of Utah does not allow any exemption for the medical use of marijuana and prosecutes every individual possession.
Utah prosecutes so called "drugged" drivers if the blood or urine test shows even the slightest trace of THC or metabolized THC. The state will charge the drivers with a marijuana DUI regardless of when or where the substance was consumed and even when there are no signs of impairment.
Utah marijuana laws state that you will be suspended for 6 months the driver's license of any citizen who is convicted of any drug offense including mere possession and possession of paraphernalia.
Utah marijuana tax stamp law mandates that those who possess marijuana purchase and affix state-issued stamps onto his or her contraband. Failure to have such a stamp is a felony offense.
Possession of larger quantities and possession with intent to distribute are prosecuted vigorously and can result in jail or prison time.
What Are Your Rights When You Get Pulled Over?
When the police stop someone for a traffic violation the law limits how long they can detain the individual and what a driver is required to do. Like most states, Utah requires the production of a valid driver's license, proof of insurance and proper registration. Once that is done, and unless there is some other reason to detain the driver, the police may only detain a motorist on the roadside long enough to check the validity of the documents and to write a citation.
What Are Rights When Approached by a Police Officer?
When you're out and about in the world, you still need to obey the laws of the land, no matter where you're at. It is always important to remember that law enforcement officers have the heavy duty of protecting the community they serve, the citizens that live within it and the property included, just as Utah marijuana lawyers
have the duty to protect you.
Have You Been Arrested?
If you have been charged with a marijuana-related offense it is important to have a Utah marijuana lawyer
defend you. They should understand your situation and be willing to fight for your rights. This sometimes means a willingness to take on both the local police and the home town prosecutor. It is important to find a Utah criminal defense attorney who is willing to fight and is on your side.
Learn More About Marijuana
Right to Reasonable Bail
Anyone arrested has the right to have a reasonable bail set in their case. Utah law requires that reasonable bail be scheduled within 72 hours of a person's arrest and that if charges are not filed in that time period the citizen must be released A good lawyer can assist in getting the individual out of jail and posting as little of your funds as possible even when the police have deliberately increased the number and severity of charges to keep citizens from being able to bond out of custody.
Your Marijuana Rights
Choosing an Marijuana Lawyer
Choosing a marijuana lawyer in Utah
is no walk in the park. Trust, communication and diligence are only a few of the traits you'll want to look for in a lawyer. Read More